ICTPInternational Centre for Theoretical PhysicsSAIFRSouth American Institute for Fundamental Research

São Paulo International Schools on Theoretical Physics



# Nonpertubative QCD

## Hadron Structure and Hadronic Matter

### May 27 - June 7, 2013 Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP - São Paulo, Brazil

The school is geared towards advanced graduate students and young postdocs, and intends to bring them in contact with vibrant ideas at the core of the current research on strong interactions.

#### **Lectures and Lecturers:**

There will be four courses. Each course will consist of lectures accompanied by in-depth discussions and hands-on activities.

#### May 27 – 31

- QCD with a large number of colors Thomas Cohen (Univ. Maryland) and Carlos Schat (Univ. Buenos Aires)



ICTP-SAIFR Steering Committee:

Fernando Quevedo (chair) ICTP director Julio Cezar Durigan UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz FAPESP scientific director Jacob Palis Brasil Acad. of Sci. president Juan Maldacena Representing South America

> ICTP-SAIFR Scientific Council:

Peter Goddard (chair) IAS, Princeton S. Randjbar-Daemi (coord.)

 Effective field theories and soft collinear effective theory Aneesh Manohar (UC San Diego) and Christopher Lee (Los Alamos)

#### June 3 – 7

- Lattice QCD Andreas Kronfeld (Fermilab) and Tereza Mendes (Univ. São Paulo)
- Gauge/string duality and the quark-gluon plasma Andrei Starinets (Univ. Oxford) and Diego Trancanelli (Univ. São Paulo)

#### Organizers:

Gastão Krein (IFT), Ubirajara van Kolck (IPN Orsay and Univ. Arizona), Diego Trancanelli (Univ. São Paulo)

#### **International Advisory Committee:**

Wolfgang Bietenholz (Univ. Nacional Autónoma de Mexico), William Brooks (Univ. Técnica Federico Santa María), Esteban Calzetta (Univ. Buenos Aires), Xiangdong Ji (Univ. Maryland & Univ. Shanghai Jiao Tong), David B. Kaplan (National Institute for Nuclear Theory, Seattle), Ulf-G. Meißner (Univ. Bonn & Forschungszentrum Jülich), Anthony W. Thomas (Univ. Adelaide)

## The online application form and more information can be found at: www.ictp-saifr.org/QCD

There is no registration fee. Some funds are available for local and travel support of the participants.

The application deadline is **April 7, 2013**.

ICTP vice-director Juan Montero **IFT-UNESP** director Marcela Carena Fermilab, Batavia **Marcel Clerc** Univ. de Chile, Santiago Luiz Davidovich UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro **Daniel Sudarsky** UNAM, Mexico City Matias Zaldarriaga IAS, Princeton **Anthony Zee** Univ. California, Santa Barbara **Barton Zwiebach** MIT, Cambridge

#### ICTP-SAIFR Staff:

Nathan Berkovits Acting director Rogerio Rosenfeld Acting vice-director Nadia Rosa Roque Executive secretary Danilo Rodrigues Ramos Computer systems manager Lilia Faria Financial manager