

ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

São Paulo International Schools on Theoretical Physics



Nonpertubative QCD

Hadron Structure and Hadronic Matter

May 27 - June 7, 2013 Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP - São Paulo, Brazil

The school is geared towards advanced graduate students and young postdocs, and intends to bring them in contact with vibrant ideas at the core of the current research on strong interactions.

Lectures and Lecturers:

There will be four courses. Each course will consist of lectures accompanied by in-depth discussions and hands-on activities.

May 27 - 31

- QCD at large Nc Thomas Cohen (Univ. Maryland) and Carlos Schat (Univ. Buenos Aires)
- Effective field theories and soft collinear effective theory
 Aneesh Manohar (UC San Diego) and Christopher Lee (Los Alamos)

June 3 – 7

- Lattice QCD
 Andreas Kronfeld (Fermilab) and Tereza Mendes (Univ. São Paulo)
- Gauge/string duality and the quark-gluon plasma Andrei Starinets (Univ. Oxford) and Diego Trancanelli (Univ. São Paulo)

Organizers:

Gastão Krein (IFT), Ubirajara van Kolck (IPN Orsay and Univ. Arizona), Diego Trancanelli (Univ. São Paulo)

International Advisory Committee:

Wolfgang Bietenholz (Univ. Nacional Autónoma de Mexico), William Brooks (Univ. Técnica Federico Santa María), Esteban Calzetta (Univ. Buenos Aires), Xiangdong Ji (Univ. Maryland & Univ. Shanghai Jiao Tong), David B. Kaplan (National Institute for Nuclear Theory, Seattle), Ulf-G. Meißner (Univ. Bonn & Forschungszentrum Jülich), Anthony W. Thomas (Univ. Adelaide)

The online application form and more information can be found at:

www.ictp-saifr.org/QCD

There is no registration fee. Some funds are available for local and travel support of the students.

The application deadline is April 7, 2013.



ICTP-SAIFR Steering Committee:

Fernando Quevedo (chair)
ICTP director
Julio Cezar Durigan
UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz
FAPESP scientific director
Jacob Palis
Brasil Acad. of Sci. president
Juan Maldacena
Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR Scientific Council:

Peter Goddard (chair) IAS, Princeton S. Randjbar-Daemi (coord.) ICTP vice-director Juan Montero **IFT-UNESP** director Marcela Carena Fermilab, Batavia **Marcel Clerc** Univ. de Chile, Santiago **Luiz Davidovich** UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro **Daniel Sudarsky** UNAM, Mexico City **Matias Zaldarriaga** IAS, Princeton **Anthony Zee** Univ. California, Santa Barbara **Barton Zwiebach** MIT, Cambridge

ICTP-SAIFR Staff:

Nathan Berkovits
Acting director
Rogerio Rosenfeld
Acting vice-director
Nadia Rosa Roque
Executive secretary
Danilo Rodrigues Ramos
Computer systems manager
Lilia Faria
Financial manager