International Centre for Theoretical Physics South American Institute for Fundamental Research

6TH INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP FOR THE DESIGN OF THE ANDES UNDERGROUND LABORATORY

August 4-6, 2018 at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

ORGANIZERS

João dos Anjos (CBPF, Brazil) Xavier Bertou (CNEA/CONICET, Argentina) Osvaldo Civitarese (U. La Plata, Argentina) Claudio Dib (chair person – U. Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile) Juan Carlos D'Olivo (UNAM, Mexico) Martha Alice Losada (U. Antonio Nariño, Colombia) Martin Makler (CBPF, Brazil) Eduardo Ponton (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

Registration deadline: May 11, 2018

Online registration form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/ANDES2018 Underground laboratories allow physicists to study weakly interacting particles such as the neutrino or hypothetical dark matter particles that could cross milions of kilometers of rock without interacting. The construction of the Agua Negra tunnel between Argentina and Chile is a unique opportunity to plan the construction of the ANDES underground laboratory which would be the only such laboratory in the southern hemisphere. The finalization of the ANDES conceptual design and the official support of the EBITAN to add ANDES to the Agua Negra tunnel civil work make ANDES closer to completion.

The ICTP-SAIFR/CLAF Sixth International Workshop for the Design of the ANDES Underground Laboratory will take place in São Paulo immediately after the ICTP-SAIFR School on Dark Matter and Neutrino Detection. This workshop will focus on the many efforts needed to start the planning for the opening of ANDES, following workshops held in April 2011 (Argentina), June 2011 (Brazil), January 2012 (Chile), January 2014 (Mexico) and June 2017 (Argentina).

There is no registration fee.



ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Vanessa Ferreira - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lilia Faria - Financial Manager ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton S. Randjbar-Daemi - ICTP vice-director Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires Matias Zaldarriaga - IAS, Princeton