ICTP for SAIFR So

International Centre for Theoretical Physics South American Institute for Fundamental Research

WORKSHOP ON STRONG ELECTRON CORRELATIONS IN QUANTUM MATERIALS: INHOMOGENEITIES, FRUSTRATION, AND TOPOLOGY

August 14-18, 2018 at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

SPEAKERS

Gabriel Aeppli (Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland) Maria Carolina Aguiar (UFMG, Brazil) Marcos Avila (UFABC, Brazil) Luis Balicas (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, USA) Fernando Garcia (USP, Brazil) Eduardo Granado (UNICAMP, Brazil) Amit Ghosal (IISER Kolkota, India) Igor Herbut (Simon Fraser University, Canada) Eduardo Marino (UFRJ, Brazil) Tobias Micklitz (CBPF, Brazil) Eduardo Miranda (UNICAMP, Brazil) Cristiane Morais Smith (Utrecht U., The Netherlands) Eduardo Mucciolo* (U. of Central Florida, USA) Rajesh Narayanan (IITM, Chennai, India) Thereza Paiva (UFRJ, Brazil) Rodrigo Pereira (International Institute of Physics-UFRJ, Brazil) Dragana Popovic (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, USA) Gil Refael* (Caltech, USA) Sri Raghu (Stanford U., USA) Marcelo Rozenberg (U. Paris-Sud, France) Raimundo R. Santos (UFRJ, Brazil) Eduardo Silva Neto (U. of California Davis, USA) **Oskar Vafek** (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, USA) Thomas Vojta (Missouri U. of Science and Technology, USA) Wei Ku (Shanghai Jiao Tong U., China)

*to be confirmed

The last decades have seen much progress in the field of Condensed Matter Physics, driven primarily by the experimental discovery of a number of novel materials displaying exotic behavior. It has become clear that many of these interesting properties arise from strong interactions between their constituent electrons, with growing evidence of the key role played by inhomogeneities, frustration and topological aspects of the matter. This area of Strongly Correlated Electronic systems has become one of the most interesting, active, and intellectually challenging fields in Condensed Matter Physics. In this workshop, we bring together experts working on this challenging and rapidly evolving field, to present their experimental and theoretical progress.

There is no registration fee.

Registration deadline: June 15, 2018

IFT

Online registration form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/qmaterial18

ORGANIZERS

Eric Andrade (IFSC-USP, Brazil) Vlad Dobrosavljević (NHMFL&FSU, USA) José Hoyos (IFSC-USP, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Jacob Pails - Brazilian Academy of Sciences Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

FAPESP

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Vanessa Ferreira - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lilia Faria - Financial Manager

unesp

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton S. Randjbar-Daemi - ICTP vice-director Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvéa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. de Unios Belita koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires Matias Zaldarriaga - IAS, Princeton