

LECTURERS

Leor Barack/Adam Pound (U. of Southampton, UK)
Luc Blanchet (IAP Paris, France)
Sascha Husa (U. of Balearic Islands, Las Palmas, Spain)
Rodrigo Nemmen (IAG-USP, Brazil)
Walter Del Pozzo (U. of Pisa, Italy)
Bangalore Sathyaprakash (Pennsylvania State U., USA)
Daniel Siegel (Columbia University, USA)
Jan Steinhoff (AEI Potsdam, Germany)
Sylvia Zhu (AEI Hannover, Germany)

GW Astronomy has become a truly interdisciplinary subject, and future leaders of this nascent field must not only be able to converse but also work on source understanding, data analysis and astrophysics, to realize the full potential of this new era. Typical searches for gravitational waves require very precise signal templates, which in turn demands state-of-the-art numerical and analytical models, to enable also the most accurate parameter estimation. Moreover, extracting the most information from the waveforms requires very efficient search algorithms for data-analysis, the physical interpretation

of results and their consequences in our understanding of astrophysics and fundamental questions being the ultimate goal of the field.

The school intends to offer a unique opportunity to train the new generation of researchers in this incipient field. At the end of the school students should be ready to contribute in all areas of this exciting new era of gravitational astronomy: the first week will develop the theoretical background, the second week more advanced topics are discussed and the third week contemplates astrophysics of sources and possible electromagnetic counterparts. There will be three lectures per day and problem sessions in the afternoon.

The School has no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: September 21, 2018

Online application form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/gw2018









ORGANIZERS

Luis Lehner (Perimeter Institute, Canada) Rafael A. Porto (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Riccardo Sturani (IIP-Natal, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires
Matias Zaldarriaga - IAS, Princeton