

# **LECTURERS**

Marcela Alfaro (Universidad de Costa Rica, Costa Rica)
Raphael Cobe (NCC, Brazil)
Steve Diggs (University of California, USA)
Filipe Fernandes (NOOA/IOOS & Software Carpentry, Brazil)
Robert E Quick (Indiana University, USA)
William Sherman (Indiana University, USA)

## **DIRECTORS**

### Marcela Alfaro Córdoba

(University of Costa Rica)

### **Simon Hodson**

(CODATA, Committee on Data of the International Council for Science, France)

### **Sarah Jones**

(Digital Curation Centre, University of Glasgow, UK)

#### **Robert E Quick**

(Indiana University, USA)

#### **Hugh Shanahan**

(Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)

Contemporary research — particularly when addressing the most significant, transdisciplinary research challenges — cannot be done effectively without a range of skills relating to data. This International School on Research Data Science will focus on growing competence in these skills, and is open to participants from all disciplines from the sciences to humanities. This activity will cover topics on principles and practice of Open Science, research data management and curation, use of a range of research compute infrastructures, large scale analysis, statistics, visualisation and modeling techniques, automation and scripting.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for participants from South America.

# Application deadline: September 30, 2018

Online registration form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/CODATA2018



















#### **ORGANIZERS**

Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Raphael Cobe (NCC, Brazil) Ivan Girotto (ICTP-Trieste, Italy) Rogério lope (NCC, Brazil) Beraldo Leal (NCC, Brazil) Sérgio Novaes (NCC and SPRACE, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant