Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



**January 14 – 26, 2019** 

JANUARY PROGRAM
ON PHYSICS IN
BIOLOGY



CURTIS CALLAN
Princeton University, USA
School on Mathematical Models of Evolution



LUCA PELITI SMRI, Italy

School on Mathematical Models of Evolution



PAUL RAINEY

IAS - Massey University, New Zeland
School on Mathematical Models of Evolution

JOSHUA WEITZ
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
School on Mathematical Models of Evolution

The succesful series of one-week Summer Schools on Mathematical Biology is now in its eighth edition, and in 2019 will be followed by the one-week School on Mathematical Models of Evolution, co-organized with the Abdus Salam ICTP in Trieste. Candidates may apply for one or both activities, and preference will be given to PhD students in South America.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

**Application deadline: November 4, 2018** 

**Online application and more information:** 

www.ictp-saifr.org/mathbio8 www.ictp-saifr.org/evolution19









## **ORGANIZERS**

Marcus Aguiar (UNICAMP, Brazil) Antonio Celani (ICTP-Trieste, Italy) Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Matteo Marsili (ICTP-Trieste, Italy) Luca Peliti (SMRI, Italy) Paulo Inácio Prado (USP, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires
Matias Zaldarriaga - IAS, Princeton

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator
Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant