PICTP SAIFR

International Centre for Theoretical Physics South American Institute for Fundamental Research

SOUTH AMERICAN WORKSHOP ON COSMOLOGY IN THE LSST ERA

December 17-21, 2018 at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

PRELIMINARY LIST OF SPEAKERS

David Alonso (U. of Oxford, UK) Luca Amendola (U. of Heildeberg, Germany) Tessa Baker (U. of Oxford, UK) Chihway Chang (U. of Chicago & Kavli I. for Cosmological Physics, USA) Martin Crocce (Institute of Space Science (CSIC-IEEC) – Barcelona, Spain) Cora Dvorkin (Harvard U., USA) Katrin Heitmann (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) Elisabeth Krause (U. of Arizona, USA) Tom McClintock (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA) Mariana Penna-Lima (U. de Brasília, Brazil) Jeff Newman (U. of Pittsburgh, USA) Ricardo Ogando (Observatório Nacional & LIneA, Brazil) Nelson Padilla (PUC-Santiago, Chile) Miguel Quartin (IF-UFRJ, Brazil) Flávia Sobreira (UNICAMP & LIneA, Brazil) Galaxy surveys are instrumental for the study of the large scale structure of the Universe. These surveys are becoming larger and deeper, producing cosmological (and non-cosmological) results of great importance. The next large survey will be conducted by the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST), which will have its first light in 2020. In addition, there are several other projects that will have a significant impact on cosmology planned for the same period, with important synergies with LSST. Therefore it is timely to discuss what can be expected from these projects and how we can be prepared to extract information from the future experiments in an efficient and coordinated way.

The aim of the workshop is to attract experts in different areas of observational cosmology to discuss recent challenges in the field coming from on-going and planned projects, as well as to enhance the visibility and participation of the South American community in these projects. The format will be of short talks with time for discussions. Contributed talks will be accepted depending on time availability. We also plan to have a Poster and Early Career Scientist sessions.

There is no registration fee.

October 19, 2018 Online registration form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/LSST2018

Registration deadline:







ORGANIZERS

Luiz Nicolaci da Costa (Observatorio Nacional & LineA, Brazil) Jeff Newman (University of Pittsburgh, USA) Jorge Noreña (PUC-Valparaiso, Chile) Rogerio Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP & ICTP-SAIFR & LineA, Brazil) Domenico Sapone (University of Chile) Michael Strauss (Princeton University, USA) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Humberto Neto - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant