

International Centre for Theoretical Physics South American Institute for Fundamental Research

## CONDENSED MATTER THEORY IN THE METROPOLIS

**November 12-13, 2018** at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

## LIST OF SPEAKERS

Andre de Pinho Vieira – USP São Paulo Belita Koiller – UFRJ Caetano Rodrigues Miranda – USP São Paulo Caio Lewenkopf - UFF Cedric Leão – UFABC Edison Zacarias das Silva – UNICAMP Eduardo Miranda - UNICAMP Eric Andrade – USP São Carlos Francisco Rouxinol – UNICAMP Helena Petrili - USP São Paulo Jose Abel Hoyos – USP São Carlos Jose Carlos Egues - USP São Carlos Juarez L. F. Da Silva - USP São Carlos Kaline Rabelo Coutinho – USP São Paulo Leandro Seixas (Mackenzie) Luana Sucupira Pedrosa – UFABC Luis Gregorio Dias - USP São Paulo Marcio Varella – USP São Paulo Maurice de Koning – UNICAMP Tobias Micklitz - CBPF

The goal of this meeting is to promote collaborations and exchanges between the groups working on hard condensed matter theory in the city of São Paulo and nearby scientific poles, such as Campinas and São Carlos. We also invite a few speakers from other parts of the country to give more breadth to the topics covered by the event. We intend to make it an annual event to strengthen the condensed matter community in the region.

We particularly encourage the participation of students and postdocs. We believe that students and early-career scientists can benefit tremendously from this type of event since they can get exposure to new topics and techniques, as well as find a great opportunity for networking.

There is no registration fee and everybody is welcome to participate.

More information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/CMT2018



ORGANIZERS Aline Ramires (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP) Alexandre Reily Rocha (IFT-UNESP) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Jacob Palis - Brazilian Academy of Sciences Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Humberto Neto - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant