

International Centre for Theoretical Physics South American Institute for Fundamental Research

LATIN AMERICAN STRATEGY FORUM FOR RESEARCH INFRASTRUCTURE

April 30 - May 1, 2019

at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

SPEAKERS

João Luiz Azevedo (President of CNPq, Brazil)

Xavier Bertou (CNEA/CONICET, Argentina)

Lidia Brito (Director of UNESCO Montevideo Office)

Marcela Carena (Fermilab & University of Chicago, USA)

Carlos H. B. Cruz (Science Director of FAPESP & UNICAMP, Brazil)

Sebastián Eslava (Director of Innovation and Technological Development, Colciencias, Colombia)

Nigel S. Lockyer (Director of Fermilab)

Luciano Maiani (Universitá di Roma, Italy)

Salvatore Mele (CERN, Switzerland)

Claudia M. G. Monteza (Director of Cooperación Internacional of SENACYT, Paraguay)

Oscar Cóbar Pinto (General Secretary of Guatemala Funding Agency and CYTED, Guatemala)

Fernando Quevedo (Director of ICTP-Trieste, Italy & Cambridge U., UK)

Antonio José Roque da Silva (Director-General CNPEM, Brazil)

Rogério Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil)

Giorgio Rossi (Universita di Milano, Italy)

Jorge Tezon (Development Manager of CONICET, Argentina)

Mark Thomson (Executive Chair of STFC, UK)

collaborations deliver lasting benefits to participating nations. Most of these collaborations require large infrastructure. As is done in Europe, the coordination of resources for these large infrastructures among different countries in Latin America is desirable in order to optimize efforts. With the support of many countries and institutions, the initiative for a Latin American Strategy Forum for Research Infrastructure (LASF4RI) was presented at the Meeting of the Iberoamerican Ministers for Science and Technology last year, and was included in the final declaration that was ratified at a subsequent meeting of the Heads of State. This 2-day workshop is the first step in bringing together the LA scientific community to discuss these issues with heads of funding agencies (taking advantage of the meeting of the Global Research Council at FAPESP), with major science policy makers and also with representatives of large collaborations in the region in the areas of Particle Physics and Cosmology.

It is widely recognized that large-scale long-term science

There is no registration fee.

Application deadline: April 14, 2019

Online application form and information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/LASF4RI



ICTP-SAIFB STEERING COMMITTEE

Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector

Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director

Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director

Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad, Science president

Juan Maldacena - Representing South America



ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Humberto Neto - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant

ORGANIZERS Marcela Carena (Fermilab & University of Chicago, USA) Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz (FAPESP & UNICAMP, Brazil) Marta Losada

(Universidad Antonio Narino, Colombia) Fernando Quevedo (ICTP-Trieste, Italy and Cambridge University, UK) Rogerio Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil)