

LECTURERS

Eric Akkermans (Technion, Israel) *Mesoscopic physics of photons*

Mikhail Baranov (IQOQI, Innsbruck, Austria) *Fermions*

Michel Brune (ENS, France) **Quantum optics & optical cavities**

Philippe W Courteille (IFSC-USP, Brazil) *Introductory course (atom-light interaction and basic applications)*

Luiz Davidovich (UFRJ, Brazil) *Quantum information*

Georgy Shlyapnikov (CEA-CRNS, France) *Dipolar gases*

Juliette Simonet (U. of Hamburg, Germany) *Optical lattices*

Jook T. M. Walraven (U. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands) *Quantum gases*

Light-matter interaction is one of the oldest scientific topics, and also one of the broadest and most fundamental. Yet continuous developments of both new light scattering materials and new sources of light keep the interest in this topic alive. Impressive progress has been made during the past three decades in the preparation of cold matter and the suppression of classical noise, allowing for the emergence and even the experimental manipulation of special coherence properties of both matter and light. These developments generated applications in the fields of quantum optics and ultracold matter, for example, in quantum sensing and quantum information processing.

This school aims at training PhD and post-doc students (and selected master's students) in the physics of light interacting with cold atoms, introducing them to the basics and familiarizing them with applications in modern technology.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline:

July 7, 2019

Online application form and information:

http://www.ictp-saifr.org/atom2019









ORGANIZERS

Romain P. M. Bachelard (UFSCar, Brazil)

Raul C. Teixeira (UFSCar. Brazil)

Jook T. M. Walraven (U. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
Belita Koiller - UFBJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator
Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant