ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



PASQUALE BLASI GSSI, L'Aquila, Italy

Acceleration mechanisms



PASQUALE D. SERPICO
LAPTh, Annecy, France
HE astrophysical processes

August 5-16, 2019

SCHOOL ON HIGH ENERGY ASTROPHYSICS



RODRIGO NEMMEN
USP, São Paulo, Brazil
AGNs and blazars; Fermi tools

CARLOS ARGUELLES DELGADO
MIT, USA
HE neutrino detection



JOHANNES KNAPP DESY Zeuthen, Germany Measuring Astroparticles



FABIO IOCCO ICTP-SAIFR, São Paulo, Brazil Indirect DM searches



With the spectacular simultaneous observation of gravitational and electromagnetic waves, the past year has seen the birth of Multimessenger High Energy Astrophysics. The near future offers a unique opportunity of discoveries, and this school is aimed at introducing master's and PhD students to all aspects of this field: theoretical, instrumental, and data-analysis.

World-renowned experts will lecture on a range of topics including the processes involved in gamma-rays, charged cosmic-rays, and neutrino High Energy astrophysics, and will allow participants to become familiar with the current problems of the field today and to learn all the necessary technical and theoretical tools to face them.

The school has no registration fee, and some support (local and travel) is available for outstanding students from South American countries.

Application deadline: May 26, 2019

Online application and more information:

www.ictp-saifr.org/astro2019









ORGANIZERS

Pasquale Blasi (GSSI, L'Aquila, Italy)
Fabio locco (ICTP-SAIFR, São Paulo, Brazil)
Johannes Knapp (DESY Zeuthen, Germany)
Vitor de Souza (IFSC-USP, São Carlos, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
Belita Koiller - UFJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator
Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant