ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

NCC-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



ALEXANDRE XAVIER FALCÃO IC-UNICAMP, Brazil

The School on Data Science and Machine Learning has the goal of teaching participants about modern machine learning techniques, their strengths and shortcomings, and how to apply them in different contexts. The school is targeted particularly at senior PhD students, working towards the completion of their thesis projects, as well as young postdocs.

The school participants will learn the formalism of machine learning, starting from an introductory level and going through more advanced topics like computer vision, sequential and recursive learning, anomaly and outlier detectors, and generative models. The theoretical lectures will be mixed with a set of hands-on sessions where participants will be able to apply the concepts to solving real-world problems. Application deadline: October 13, 2019

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/DSML2019



There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

ORGANIZERS

Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Raphael Cobe (NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil) Sergio F. Novaes (UNESP/AI2, Brazil) Maria Spiropulu (Californa I. of Technology, USA) Thiago Tomei (NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager Humberto Neto - Executive secretary Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant