

## ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

**NCC-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil** 



The goal of the school is to teach scientists modern computer hardware and programming to provide a foundation for future computational research using High Performance Computing (HPC).

Participants will learn how to improve the efficiency of their research codes, and to parallelize them. Lectures on a selection of technical aspects of modern HPC hardware will be mixed with introductions to widely used parallel programming tools and libraries. The hands-on sessions will allow participants to learn from examples of problems of general scientific interest. Topics will cover numerical methods and parallel strategies, as well as data management.

The programme specifically addresses the needs of scientists using, writing, or modifying HPC applications, and will not assume, require, or provide significant IT and HPC resource management skills. It will be mainly based on fundamental HPC-relevant features in widely used scientific software for high-performance computing.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

**Application deadline: September 29, 2019** 

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/HPC2019









## **ORGANIZERS**

Raphael Cobe (NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil) Ivan Girotto (ICTP-Trieste, Italy) Sergio F. Novaes (UNESP/AI2, Brazil) Silvio Luiz Stanzani (NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Fernando Quevedo (chair) - ICTP director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP recieotri Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Peter Goddard (chair) - IAS, Princeton
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive manager
Humberto Neto - Executive secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer systems manager
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator
Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant