

II ICTP-SAIFR LATIN AMERICAN STRATEGY FORUM FOR RESEARCH **INFRASTRUCTURE: AN OPEN SYMPOSIUM FOR HECAP**



March 24-26, 2020

at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo. Brazil

SPEAKERS

O D Aguiar (INPE, Brazil)

R Batista (Radboud U., Netherlands)

N Bernal (UAN, Colombia)

X Bertou (Balseiro, Argentina)

R Camacho (LPNHE, France)

E Carrera (USFQ, Ecuador)

F Chierchie (UNS, Argentina)

P Chimenti (UEL, Brazil)

E Dal Pino (IAG-USP, Brazil)

C Dobrigkeit (UNICAMP, Brazil)

A Etchegoyen (CNEA, Argentina)

J Fabris (UFES, Brazil)

G O Garzón (UBA, Argentina)

E Kemp (UNICAMP, Brazil)

D G Lambas (UNC, Argentina)

A Lepine-Szily (IFUSP, Brazil)

DPRF Maltez (UBA, Argentina)

J Molina (UNA, Paraguay)

D Moreno (UAN, Colombia)

G F Moroni (FNAL, USA)

M G Munhoz (IF-USP, Brazil)

I Nasteva (UFRJ, Brazil)

H Nunokawa (PUC-Rio, Brazil)

E Paolini (UNS, Argentina)

F Queiroz (IIP, Brazil)

M Rangel (UFRJ, Brazil)

R Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil)

A C Rovero (UBA, Argentina)

C Sandoval (UNAL, Colombia)

A R-Wolf (JPL, USA)

A Sanchez (CERN, Switzerland)

E Segreto (UNICAMP, Brazil)

J M Seixas (UFRJ, Brazil)

I Sidelnick (CNEA, Argentina)

G G Silveira (UFRGS, Brazil)

V de Souza (IFSC, Brazil)

A Sznajder (UERJ, Brazil)

H Wahlberg (UNLP, Argentina)

This open symposium is a follow-up to a first workshop held at ICTP-SAIFR on April 30 – May 1 2019 which brought together researchers from the High Energy, Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics (HECAP) community and delegates from the Research Councils of Latin American countries and devised an action plan to develop the strategy and roadmap for research infrastructures in Latin America.

A page for the initiative was created (lasf4ri.org) and a call for white papers from ongoing efforts in the region was issued. Over 40 contributions were submitted which will be the main topic of the Symposium.

The goal of the Symposium is to work towards establishing a regional consensus on the scientific objectives for each of the main topics of the submission tracks and to analyze the relevance of the proposed projects for the fulfillment of these objectives.

There will be some limited funding to support invited talks, and remote participation will be available.

There is no registration fee.

Registration deadline:

March 8, 2020

Online registration form and information:

http://www.ictp-saifr.org/lasf4ri2020









ORGANIZERS **Xavier Bertou** (CAB/CNEA, Argentina) Marcela Carena (Fermilab & U. of Chicago, USA) Marta Losada (NYU at Abu Dhabi, United Emirates) Fernando Ouevedo (DAMPT - U. of Cambridge, UK) Rogerio Rosenfeld

(IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president Peter Goddard - Search Committee chair Juan Maldacena - Representing South America Fernando Quevedo - ICTP former director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - Univ. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO. Louisiana State U. Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Sebastião Neto - Computer Systems Manager Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Isabela Pereira - Technical assistant