

# **WORKSHOP ON SOCIOPHYSICS: SOCIAL PHENOMENA FROM A** PHYSICS PERSPECTIVE

## **October 18-22, 2021**

### by videoconference

### **INVITED SPEAKERS**

Pablo Balenzuela (U. de Buenos Aires, Argentina) Guillaume Deffuant (Lisc, France) Silvio Ferreira (UFV, Brazil) Jose Fernando Fontanari (IFSC/USP, Brazil) Serge Galam (SciPol, France) José Roberto Iglesias (UFRGS, Brazil) Marcelo Kuperman (CAB, Bariloche, Argentina) Fabiana Laguna (CAB, Bariloche, Argentina) Francisco WS Lima (UFPI, Brazil) Vittorio Loreto\* (Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy) Alexandre Martinez (USP-RP, Brazil) Hernán Makse (City College, CUNY, USA) Maxi San Miguel (IFISC, UIB-CSIC, Spain) Mauro Mobilia (U. of Leeds, UK) Yamir Moreno (U. of Zaragoza, Spain) Andrea Rapisarda (U. of Catania, Italy) Fabiano Ribeiro (UFLA, Brazil) Viktoriya Semeshenko\* (IIEP, Argentina) José Soares-Andrade Jr (UFC, Brazil) Katarzyna Sznajd-Weron (Wroclaw U., Poland) Raul Toral (IFISC, UIB-CSIC, Spain) Juan Alejandro Valdivia (U. de Chile, Chile)

\*to be confirmed

The application of techniques of statistical (and other areas of) physics to understand the dynamics of social systems is currently one of the hottest topics in the study of complex systems. The so-called Sociophysics has attracted the attention of a large number of scientists from areas such as physics, computer science, and mathematics, as well as the humanities.

This meeting will bring together physicists and other scientists from all over the world to focus on open issues in social modelling and to identify the new directions in which this interdisciplinary field is evolving.

There is no registration fee and due to COVID-19 the workshop will be held online.

**Deadline for Abstract submission:** August 31, 2021

**Registration deadline: October 10, 2021** 

**Online registration and more information:** http://ictp-saifr.org/wsociophys20/





#### **ORGANIZERS**

Celia Anteneodo (PUC-Rio, Brazil) Marcos Gomes Eleuterio da Luz (UFPR, Brazil) Nuno Crokidakis (UFF, Brazil)

**ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE** Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president Peter Goddard - Search Committee chair Juan Maldacena - Representing South America Francisco Quevedo - ICTP former director Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector

**ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL** Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. Belita Koiller - UFRJ. Rio de Janeiro Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

#### ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Artur Alegre - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant