

by videoconference

CONFIRMED SPEAKERS

Odylio D. Aguiar (INPE)

Ulisses Barres Almeida (CBPF)

Orfeu Bertolami (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)

João Braga (INPE)

Hugo Camacho (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR/LineA)

Renato Dupke (ON)

Júlio Fabris (UFES)

Diego A. F. Goncalves (USP)

Gustavo Guerrero (UFMG)

Jacques Lepine (IAG-USP)

Marcos Maia (UnB)

Martin Makler (CBPF/U. Nacional de San Martin, Argentina)

Valerio Marra (UFES/INAF-Trieste, Italy)

Rodrigo Nemmen (IAG-USP)

Merav Opher (Boston University, USA)

Roderik Overzier (ON)

Mariana Penna-Lima (UnB)

Ilva Shapiro (UFJF)

Flávia Sobreira (UNICAMP)

Rafael da Silva de Souza (Shanghai Astronomical Observatory, China)

Riccardo Sturani (IIP-UFRN)

Carlos Alexandre Wuensche (INPE)

Reuven Opher was a leading astrophysicist and cosmologist working in Brazil from 1979 through 2014. He established two successful series of workshops: the "Nova Física no Espaço", which was held in Portuguese in an informal setting and directed to the Brazilian community, and the "Challenges of New Physics in Space", an international workshop where renowned researchers were invited to present the state-of-the-art in different fields of Astrophysics and Cosmology. The last edition was the XIIIth workshop held at the ICTP-SAIFR in 2016.

In addition to the invited talks, there will be space for posters with pre-recorded talks and one session with flash presentations is planned as well.

This workshop, named after Reuven Opher, will continue his efforts to showcase the work of the Brazilian community in the fields related to Cosmology, Gravity and Astrophysics.

There is no registration fee.

Deadline for Abstract submission:

November 28, 2021

Registration deadline:

December 5, 2021

Online registration and more information:

https://www.ictp-saifr.org/ropher2021/









ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

Odylio Aquiar (INPF) Vanessa Carvalho de Andrade (UnB) João Braga (INPE) Marcos Maia (UnB) Mariana Penna-Lima (UnB) Elisabete Maria de Gouveia Dal Pino (IAG-USP)

Marcelo Reboucas (CBPF)

Rogerio Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR)

Ilya Shapiro (UFJF)

Carlos Alexandre Wuensche (INPE)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant