ACTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



The school is intended for graduate students and researchers, and will cover well-tested and successful theoretical methods used to study disordered elastic systems (critically-coordinated lattices, scaling theories and calculations for jamming and glasses in infinite dimension), as well as more recent developments that have attracted a lot of attention in the past few years (mechanical metamaterials, machine learning and biopolymer fibrous networks). In addition to the lectures, there will be one research seminar per week, to be given by an outstanding local researcher with expertise in the subject area of the school.

Application deadline: July 31, 2022 Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/des2022/

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.



ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inster, Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilla Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Communications Coordinator Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant

ORGANIZERS Carolina Brito (IF, UFRGS, Brazil)

Itai Cohen (Cornell University, USA)

Danilo B. Liarte (Cornell University, USA / ICTP-SAIFR & IFUSP, Brazil) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America