ICTP | International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR | South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



In the course we introduce the "functional" re-formulation of the standard Perturbative RG (FPRG) and use it to classify universality classes in arbitrary dimension (i.e. CFTs) within the epsilon-expansion together with the determination of the epsilon-series for all the relative CFT data. One novelty of the approach is the ability to construct epsilon-series for the OPE coefficients and not only for the critical exponents (i.e. CFT scaling dimensions).

The second part of the course will show how the FPRG formalism allows a straightforward generalization to the multicomponent scalar field case (arbitrary N) with almost no need for additional computations. We will explore many examples of known theories – including O(N), Potts and Cubic models – together with more recent topics like Platonic Field Theories and multicritical O(N) models.

Finally we present the recent full classification of dc=4 and N = 2,3,4, dc=6 and N=2,3 and dc=10/3 and N=2 multicomponent universality classes and conclude with an overview of current research topics in the field.

There is no registration fee.

Application deadline: June 26, 2022

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/epsilon2022







ORGANIZERS

Alessandro Codello (UdelaR – Montevideo, Uruguay) Alberto Tonero (Carleton University, Canada) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director
Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector
Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director
Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I.
Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director
William Bialek - Princeton U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche
Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager
Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Malena Stariolo - Communications Coordinator
Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant