ACTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



Quantum computing has become a major hot topic in recent years, leading several countries around the world to launch billion-dollar initiatives to develop research in this area. In addition to such initiatives, large multinational corporations such as Google, IBM, Amazon, Microsoft and many new startups have also started to invest large amounts of money both in the construction of quantum computers and new algorithms, which explore the fundamental concepts of Quantum Theory to promise extraordinary gains in information processing even over the most powerful classical supercomputers.

The main purpose of the present school is to provide short courses and lectures from the basics concepts to the state of the art on quantum computing: quantum algorithm efficiency, quantum complexity theory, quantum simulators, adiabatic quantum computing, quantum machine learning, and different architectures where quantum computing can be implemented, such as superconducting qubits, trapped ions, and photonics systems. The school will also offer short courses about the use of quantum computing in the cloud. Application deadline: September 11, 2022 Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/qc2022/

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses. *to be confirmed





ICIT-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvéa - Northwestern U. Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Communications Coordinator Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant

ORGANIZERS

Frederico Brito (IFSC/USP, São Carlos – SP) Markus Hennrich (Stockholm U., Stockholm – Sweden) Ivan de Oliveira (CBPF, Rio de Janeiro – RJ) Ana Predojevic (Stockholm U., Stockholm – Sweden) Celso J. Villas-Boas (UFSCar, São Carlos – SP) Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE