ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



Technion, Israel Mesoscopic physics of photons

> Application deadline: December 25, 2022 **Online application and more information:** www.ictp-saifr.org/lca2023/



There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

The progress made during the past four decades in techniques for producing and controlling cold matter gave rise to the experimental manipulation of quantum gases, exotic states of matter, and the implementation of quantum simulators for condensed matter Hamiltonians. In addition, the progress in the production and manipulation of quantum states of light and the suppression of classical noise allowed for the emergence

and control of special coherence properties and quantum statistics, for both matter and light. These developments brought the fields of quantum optics and ultracold matter

closer to applications, for example, in guantum sensing and guantum information processing. This common field of research represents today a privileged platform for

fundamental discoveries of non-classical properties of light and matter, and an incubator

This school aims at training PhD students, post-docs and outstanding master students in the physics of optics and cold atoms, introducing them to the basics, and familiarizing

ORGANIZERS

of new quantum technologies.

Romain Bachelard (UFSCar, Brazil) Patrícia Christina Marques Castilho (IFSC-USP, Brazil) Mathilde Hugbart (Institut de Physique de Nice, France) Raul Celistrino Teixeira (UFSCar, Brazil)

them with applications in modern technologies.

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director

Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manage Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant