

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil







ROBERTA ZANIN CTA Observatory Experimental techniques

March 27-31, 2023

LATIN-AMERICAN

SCHOOL ON CTA

Seminar RITA DE CÁSSIA DOS ANJOS UFPR, Brazil

Supernovae Remnants and PeVatrons: Acceleration and Propagation

MANUEL MEYER
U. of Hamburg, Germany
Fundamental Physics

ELISABETE DAL PINO

Introduction to Astrophysics

IAG-USP, Brazil





Seminar

WALTER MAX-MOERBECK U. de Santiago de Chile

Introductions to Blazars

Seminar
EDIVALDO MOURA SANTOS
IFUSP, Brazil

Prospects for AGN population studies with the CTA

The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) will be the major global observatory for very high energy gamma-ray astronomy over the next decade and beyond. The scientific program of CTA is rather broad: from understanding the role of relativistic cosmic particles to the search for dark matter. CTA will explore the universe using photons from 20 GeV to 300 TeV and significantly improve the sensitivity of high-energy gamma-ray phenomena.

Therefore, it is of paramount importance to train Latin-American students about CTA science, and this motivated the first Latin-American School of CTA Science. The school will feature lectures on the following topics: Numerical Tools; Dark Matter; Fundamental Physics adn Multi-Messenger.

The lectures will be given by experts on these topics who are familiar with the imaging atmospheric Cherenkov telescopes technique. At the school, the students will be familiarized with theoretical aspects of gamma-ray astronomy and through hands-on activities will learn how to install the codes and familiarize themselves with numerical programs, which are important for CTA science.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: January 15, 2023

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/cta2023/









ORGANIZERS

Ulisses Barres (CBPF, Brazil)
Werner Hofmann (MPIK, Germany)
Gaspar Galaz (Universidad Catolica de Chile, Chile)
Vitor de Souza (USP-São Carlos, Brazil)
Farinaldo Queiroz (UFRN, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director
Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector
Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director
Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I.
Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director
William Bialek - Princeton U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U.
Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche
Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager
Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Marrey Peres, Jr. - Operations Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant