

March 20-22, 2023 at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

APS/ICTP-SAIFR SATELLITE MARCH MEETING

March 20: 14:00-16:00 (IFT auditorium) CONDENSED MATTER THEORY

Chair: Alexandre Reily Rocha (IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

Gustavo Martini Dalpian (Universidade Federal do ABC) Tuning spin splittings in 2D compounds

Luis Gregorio Dias (Universidade de São Paulo) Emergent parafermionic zero modes in fermionic systems

Eric Andrade (Universidade de São Paulo) *Perturbing the Kitaev model*

Márcio Sampaio (Universidade Federal do ABC) Enhancing molecular dynamics simulations of aqueous systems with deep neural network force fields

March 20: 19:00-21:00 (IFT auditorium) QUANTUM TECHNOLOGIES

Chair: Marcelo Terra Cunha (Unicamp, Brazil)

Paulo Nussenzveig (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil) A Roadmap for Quantum Technologies at Sao Paulo, Brazil, and Latin America

Belita Koiller (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) The Brazilian National Institute for Science and Technology of Quantum Information

Aldo Delgado (Universidad de Concepción, Chile) Quantum Sciences and Technologies at Millenium Institute for Research in Optics

Juan Pablo Paz (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina) The Argentinean Initiative on Quantum Science and Technologies

Rafael Chaves (International Institute of Physics, Brazil) Exploring Non-Classical Features of Quantum Networks

Bárbara Amaral (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)

Quantum Bit Commitment **Thiago P. Mayer Alegre** (Unicamp, Brazil) Unlocking the Potential of Nano-Optomechanical Systems with Dissipative Optomechanics

March 21: 19:00-21:00 (online) NETWORK DYNAMICS AND SYNCHRONIZATION

Chair: Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp)

Tiago Pereira (USP São Carlos, Brazil) Coherence resonance in networks

Gonzalo Marcelo Ramírez-Ávila (IIF, La Paz, Bolivia) Firefly behavior and its dynamical richness: from synchronization to oscillation death

Sergio R. Lopes (UFPR, Brazil) The role of local dynamics in the phase synchronization process of a network

Francisco Rodrigues (USP São Carlos, Brazil) Prediction and inference in complex systems In order to extend the reach and diversity of its annual March Meeting, the American Physical Society has developed a pilot program of APS Satellite Meetings. In 2022, these satellite meetings were held in Africa and Asia, and in 2023, the satellite meetings will also include Latin America through the ICTP South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR). As part of the virtual March Meeting from March 20-22, 2023, ICTP-SAIFR will be organizing three 2-hour sessions broadcast live to all participants of the APS Virtual March Meeting, as well as a session for student/ postdoc presentations. Graduate students and postdocs can apply until March 6 to give oral presentations or posters at the student-postdoc session using the registration form below.

The sessions on March 20 from 14:00-21:00 will be held in-person in the IFT-UNESP auditorium and the session on March 21 from 19:00-21:00 will be held online. Registered participants of the Satellite Meeting can also request to attend other online sessions of the APS Virtual March Meeting which will be broadcast both in the IFT auditorium and online if there is sufficient interest. The complete schedule of sessions of the APS Virtual March Meeting can be found on the APS March Meeting webpage.

Registered participants can either attend sessions in the IFT-UNESP auditorium or attend sessions online.

There is no registration fee.

Application deadline for talk/poster: March 6, 2023

Registration deadline: March 13, 2023

Online registration and more information: https://www.ictp-saifr.org/apsmarch23/



ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandra Reily Rocha - IFT-INESP dire

Alexandre Razio - ICJP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant

ORGANIZERS

Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp) Marcelo Terra Cunha (Unicamp) Alexandre Reily Rocha (IFT-UNESP) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - President of Brazilian Acad. of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America