BRAZILIAN WORKSHOP ON SOFT MATTER

October 4-6, 2023

at Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP and SIRIUS/CNPEM, Brazil

CONFIRMED SPEAKERS

Carolina Brito (UFRGS, Brazil) Emanuela del Gado (Georgetown University, USA) Francisca Guzmán-Lastra (Universidad de Chile) Hartmut Löwen (University of Düsseldorf, Germany) Jennifer Schwarz (Syracuse University, USA) Julien Chopin (UFBA, Brazil) Luiz Roberto Evangelista (UEM, Brazil) Mathilde Champeau (UFABC, Brazil) M. Lisa Manning (Syracuse University, USA) Ronald Dickman (UFMG, Brazil) Tomás Grigera (Universidad de La Plata, Argentina) Watson Loh (UNICAMP, Brazil) Soft matter encompasses a wide variety of disparate systems, ranging from polymers and colloids to surfactants, liquid crystals and active biological matter (e.g. bacteria and flocks of birds). The Brazilian Workshop on Soft Matter will bring together experienced students and researchers, and provide a platform for fostering collaboration among members of the soft matter community in Brazil, as well as a forum for discussion of key recent developments in the field. In addition to several research seminars that will be given by outstanding invited speakers, selected participants will have the opportunity to present short talks, and take part in a series of activities at the new Brazilian synchrotron light source (Sirius).

The first two days of the workshop will take place at IFT-UNESP in the city of São Paulo and the third day at Sirius in Campinas. At Sirius, the activities will consist of a series of presentations, which will be followed by an extensive visit to the experimental stations, also known as beamlines. This experience will allow the students to observe and interact with state-of-the-art scientific equipment at Sirius.

There is no registration fee and limited funds for local expenses will be available for graduate students and researchers who have their abstracts approved for a short talk.

Registration deadline: August 20, 2023

Online registration and more information: https://www.ictp-saifr.org/sm2023/



ORGANIZERS

Mateus B. Cardoso (Sirius-CNPEM) Pablo de Castro (ICTP-SAIFR and IFT-UNESP) Antonio M. Figueiredo Neto (IF-USP) Danilo B. Liarte (ICTP-SAIFR and IFT-UNESP) Cristiano L. P. de Oliveira (IF-USP) ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dahholkar - ICTP Trieste director Pasqual Barreiti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich - Representing Acad. Brazilian of Science Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Carlos Brito Cruz (chair) - Elsevier, UK Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Michael Green - Univ. of Cambridge, UK Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator

Augeno Noseinena - vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinato Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Lilia Faria - Financial Manager Marrey Peres, Jr. - Operations Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant