ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



The goal of this workshop is to discuss and present initiatives aimed at increasing the participation of underrepresented groups in STEM careers, with a focus of this 2-day event on Afro-Brazilian, indigenous and low-income populations. This activity will be organized in the form of plenary talks and roundtable discussions, with the first day focusing on initiatives organized in the USA and other countries, and the second day focusing on initiatives in Brazil. There will also be a discussion session on proposals of concrete actions that could be implemented by ICTP-SAIFR.

This activity will be preceded by the event "Increasing Diversity and Inclusion in Science". There is no registration fee and limited funds will be available for local and travel expenses. Additional names will be announced soon.

Application deadline: October 1, 2023

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/boost2023



ORGANIZERS

Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro I.-Bariloche, Argentina) Jandira Oliveira (ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director Huno Anullani - President - Director of Serrapil

Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I. Luiz Davidovich (representing Acad. Brazilian of Science) Juan Maldacena - Representing South America ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director William Bialek - Princeton U. Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U. André de Gouvêa - Northwestern U. Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits - Director Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager Elisa Pomari - Activities Coordinator Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary Luiz Eduardo Moreira - Computer Systems Manager Maycon Clemente Silva - Adminstrative Secretary Lilla Faria - Financial Manager Marrey Peres, Jr. - Operations Manager Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant