ICTP | International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR | South American Institute for Fundamental Research

ICTP-SAIFR 12TH ANNIVERSARY SYMPOSIUM: **PHYSICS FOR SOUTH AMERICA**

February 18-20, 2024

Campus of IFT-UNESP & Instituto Principia, São Paulo, Brazil

The ICTP South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR) began its activities in 2012 as a collaboration of the International Center for Theoretical Physics in Trieste (ICTP) with the Institute for Theoretical Physics of São Paulo State University (IFT-UNESP) and the São Paulo Research Funding Agency (FAPESP). To celebrate its 12th anniversary and plan its next phase of activities, ICTP-SAIFR is organizing a symposium of public talks, research seminars and roundtable discussions with the participation of its Steering Committee and Scientific Council, its Associated Members from South America, and several invited speakers including Nobel Laureate David Gross. This symposium also is part of the ICTP 60th anniversary celebration.

There is no registration fee for any of these activities, and everyone is welcome to participate without registering. Seating may be limited, and the complete program is available on the webpage. Most activities will be transmitted online by YouTube and/or Zoom.



More information:

www.ictp-saifr.org/symposium12











CONFIRMED PARTICIPANTS

L. Raul Abramo (USP São Paulo)

Vahan Agopyan (São Paulo state secretary of science, USP ex-rector)

Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp)

Gerardo Aldazabal (Balseiro Inst.)

Carlos Aragão (FINEP director)

Oswaldo Baffa (USP Ribeirão Preto)

Marcia Barbosa (MCTI secretary of strategic projects)

Beatriz Barbuy (USP)

Ignacio Bediaga (CBPF, INCT-CERN coordinator)

William Bialek (Princeton U., Center for Physics of Biological Function co-director)

Edson Botelho (UNESP dean of research)

Gustavo Burdman (USP São Paulo)

Sylvio Canuto (FAPESP advisor, USP ex-dean of research)

Rodrigo Capaz (Brazilian Physical Society president, Brazilian Nanotechnology Lab director)

Klaus Capelle (IIP-Natal, UFABC ex-rector) Marcela Carena (Fermilab theory director)

Hilda Cerdeira (IFT-UNESP) Atish Dabholkar (ICTP director)

Gustavo Dalpian (USP São Paulo)

Elisabete Dal Pino (USP São Paulo)

Silvina Dawson (Univ. Buenos Aires, IUPAP president-designate)

Oscar Eboli (USP São Paulo)

Rosario Fazio (ICTP, Trieste Institute for Quantum Technologies director)

Adalberto Fazzio (CNPEM-llum school director, Brazilian Nanotechnology Lab ex-director)

Alvaro Ferraz (IIP-UFRN director) Chee Sheng Fong (UFABC)

Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Maysa Furlan (UNESP vice-rector) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.)

Carlos Graeff (FAPESP advisor, UNESP ex-dean of research)

David Gross (2004 Nobel Laureate, KITP ex-director)

Marcelo Knobel (Unicamp ex-rector)

Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP) Gastão Krein (IFT-UNESP)

Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

Danilo Liarte (IFT-UNESP)

Marta Losada (NYU Abu Dhabi dean of science)

Martin Makler (ICAS Buenos Aires)

Eduardo Marino (UFRJ)

Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP director)

Debora Menezes (CNPq DASD director)

Eduardo Miranda (Unicamp)

Horatiu Nastase (IFT-UNESP)

Matthias Neubert (Mainz ITP director)

Sergio Novaes (Al2 and NCC-UNESP director)

Paulo Nussenzveig (USP dean of research) Marek Nowakowski (Univ. Andes Bogotá)

José Nelson Onuchic (Rice U., Center for Theoretical Biological Physics co-director)

Victor Quito (USP São Carlos)

Oscar Reula (Univ. Nac. Córdoba)

Diego Restrepo (Univ. Antioquia)

Gustavo Romero (Argentinian Radioastronomy director)

Ilva Shapiro (UFJF)

Giovani Vasconcelos (UFPR)

Harry Westfahl Jr. (Sirius-LNLS director)

Gustavo Wiederhecker (Unicamp)

Pedro Wongtschowski (Ultra ex-president, FIESP innovation council president)

Marco Antonio Zago (FAPESP president)

Jorge Zanelli (CECs Valdivia)

ICTP-SAIFR RESEARCHERS

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogério Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Riccardo Sturani (ICTP-SAIFR fellow)

Dario Rosa (Simons-FAPESP fellow)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE

Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)
Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) o Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Luiz Davidovich (Brazilian Academy of Sciences representative)

Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary)
Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Maycon Clemente Silva (Adminstrative Secretary) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) **Thiago Codinhoto** (Technical Assistant) **Felipe Saldanha** (Communications Coordinator) Ana Luiza Sério (Outreach Coordinator) Lucas David (Outreach Coordinator)