

## **Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil**



The Standard Model of Particle Physics (SM) has been tested at unprecedented levels at the LHC and other facilities. Although extremely successful, the SM is known to be incomplete, since it does not address issues such as the origin of neutrino masses and the nature of dark matter and dark energy.

The six courses at the third edition of the Joint ICTP-SAIFR/ICTP-Trieste Summer School on Particle Physics will cover some of these topics. In the first week the courses will provide a review of the SM, its shortcomings and how to explore Physics beyond it, a discussion of the future of particle accelerators and the connection of particle physics with cosmology. The second week will address the issue of dark matter and the more formal developments in approaching Physics beyond the Standard Model, as well as the use of amplitude methods in particle physics.

This activity will be followed by the **Second School on Dark Matter and Neutrino Detection** from **July 8 to 19**.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

**Application deadline: April 20, 2024** 

**Online application and more information:** 

www.ictp-saifr.org/sspp2024









ORGANIZERS
Gustavo Burdman (IFUSP)
Joan Elias Miró (ICTP-Trieste)
Rogerio Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR)
Giovanni Villadoro (ICTP-Trieste)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Atish Dabholkar - ICTP Trieste director
Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector
Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director
Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I.
Luiz Davidovich - Representing Acad. Brazilian of Science
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Carlos Brito Cruz (chair) - Elsevier, UK
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director
William Bialek - Princeton U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
André de Gouvéa - Northwestern U.
Michael Green - Univ. of Cambridge, UK
Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche
Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Elisa Pomari - Activities Coordinator
Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary
Luiz Eduardo Moreira - Computer Systems Manager
Maycon Clemente Silva - Adminstrative Secretary
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Marrey Peres, Jr. - Operations Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant