**ICTP** International Centre for Theoretical Physics **SAIFR** South American Institute for Fundamental Research

**Campus of IFT-UNESP – São Paulo, Brazil** 



**Brandeis University, USA** Theoretical Foundations of

Active Matter: Lessons from Ideal Microscopic Models

Active matter describes systems whose constituent elements consume energy locally in order to move or to exert mechanical forces. As such, active matter systems are intrinsically out of thermodynamic equilibrium. Examples include flocks or herds of animals, collections of cells, components of the cellular cytoskeleton and even artificial microswimmers. Active matter is a rapidly growing field involving diverse scientific communities in physics, biology, computational sciences, applied mathematics, chemistry, and engineering. Numerous applications of active matter are constantly arising in biological systems, smart materials, precision medicine, and robotics.

This school is intended for graduate students and researchers interested in the physics of active matter. The lectures will cover well-tested and successful theoretical approaches as well as a discussion of experimental results. To achieve this purpose, leading experts will present lectures on fundamental aspects of active matter and a pedagogical exposition of its recent trends.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: July 27, 2024 **Online application and more information:** www.ictp-saifr.org/sam2024



## **ORGANIZERS**

Pablo de Castro (ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil) Danilo Liarte (ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil) Francisca Guzmán-Lastra (Universidad de Chile, Chile) Leonardo Gregory Brunnet (UFRGS, Brazil) Rodrigo Soto (Universidad de Chile, Chile)

## **ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE** Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)

Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

## **ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL**

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

## **ICTP-SAIFR STAFF**

Physics of Flocking

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Maycon Clemente Silva (Adminstrative Secretary) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)