



Campus of IFT-UNESP & Principia Institute - São Paulo, Brazil



SECOND SCHOOL ON DARK MATTER AND NEUTRINO DETECTION

CONFIRMED LECTURERS

Main courses and advanced topics:

Nicolás Bernal (NYU Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates): Dark Matter beyond WIMPs

Arman Esmaili (PUC-RJ, Brazil): Dark Matter and Neutrino detectors

Graciela Gelmini (UCLA, USA): Dark Matter

Matheus Hostert (Harvard): Neutrinos Beyond the Standard Model

Pedro Machado (FNAL, USA): *Neutrinos* **Daniel Pershey** (FSU, USA): *Neutrino Detection*

Javier Tiffenberg (Fermilab, USA & UBA, Argentina): Dark Matter Detection

Experiments:

Ana Botti (Fermilab, USA): *Particle detection with a CMOS camera* **Franciole Marinho** (ITA, Brazil): *LAr experiment design with simulations*

Laura Paulucci (UFABC, Brazil): ARAPUCA

Dario Rodrigues (UBA, Argentina): Sensitivity and exclusion limits

The aim of the school is to introduce the students to the field of particle Dark Matter and Neutrino Detection, share the excitement on model building and detection methods, and prepare the next generation to contribute to this endeavor. It will be composed of courses and lectures on advanced topics, with significant time for questions/discussions and practical hands-on activities. The labs which demonstrate techniques used in real experiments are a key part of the school.

The first week will take place in the IFT-UNESP auditorium and will give a general introduction to the fields of Dark Matter and neutrino physics with a more theoretical focus, providing the basis to address the detection methods. The second week will take place at the Principia Institute and will focus on detection techniques and specific experiments, with most of the afternoon dedicated to experimental work in small groups.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: May 4, 2024

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/ssdmnd2024

















LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Carla Bonifazi (ICAS-ICIFI-UNSAM, Argentina & IF-UFRJ, Brazil) Edivaldo Moura Santos (IF-USP, Brazil) Farinaldo Queiroz (IIP/UFRN, Brazil) Martin Makler (CAS-ICIFI-UNSAM, Argentina & CBPF, Brazil) Laura Palucci (UFABC, Brazil)

INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY BOARD

Ivone Albuquerque (IF-USP, Brazil) Luciano Pandola (LNS, Italy) Kate Scholberg (Duke, USA) Stefan Soldner-Rembold (Manchester, UK) Andrew Sonnenschein (Fermilab, USA)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE

Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)
Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector)
Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director)
Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director)
Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president)
Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier)
Rosario Fazio (ICTP)
Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP)
William Bialek (Princeton Univ.)
Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois)
Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.)
André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.)
Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.)
Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.)
Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director)
Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director)
Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator)
Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator)
Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary)
Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager)
Maycon Clemente Silva (Adminstrative Secretary)
Lilia Faria (Financial Manager)
Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager)
Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant)
Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)