

ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research



Venue: Principia Institute – São Paulo, Brazil



This one-week course is designed to provide master's students in physics with an introduction to advanced methods for tackling the dynamics of quantum many-body experiments. The initial focus of the course will delve into the language of open quantum systems, which serves as the foundational framework for experiments involving ultracold atoms or molecules, as well as modern many-body quantum optics. Specifically, lectures will elucidate notable distinctions from the unitary description of quantum mechanics, employing Lindblad master equations and collisional models. To reinforce understanding, tutorial sessions will be conducted to ensure a robust common foundation among participants.

In the latter part of the course, attention will shift towards demonstrating how non-equilibrium quantum field theory methods, initially formulated within the realm of high-energy physics, offer invaluable insights for deciphering the dynamics of contemporary quantum experimental setups. Students will gain insight into the technical and conceptual challenges inherent in these experiments, while exploring how a non-unitary path integral description of their dynamics can unlock regimes beyond the reach of conventional numerical or analytical approaches. The course will also offer a glimpse into the frontiers of a specific class of experiments: the realm of strongly correlated dynamics in driven-open systems of many-body cavity quantum electrodynamics.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: May 11, 2024 Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/toqs2024



ORGANIZERS

Dario Rosa ICTP-SAIFR, Brazil Jamir Marino JGU/Mainz, Germany

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)

Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative) ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-INESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Maycon Clemente Silva (Adminstrative Secretary) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)