



PROGRAM ON FUNDAMENTAL ASPECTS OF STRING THEORY



August 4 – 15, 2025 at Principia Institute, São Paulo, Brazil

CONFIRMED PARTICIPANTS

Luis Fernando Alday (Oxford Univ., UK)

Lara Anderson (Virginia Tech., USA)

Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

Shai Chester (Imperial College, UK)

Matthias Gaberdiel (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Rajesh Gopakumar (ICTS Bangalore, India)

Henry Lin (Stanford U., USA)

Liam McAllister (Cornell U., USA)

Silviu Pufu (Princeton U., USA)

Mukund Rangamani (UC Davis, USA)

Ashoke Sen (ICTS Bangalore, India)

Pedro Vieira (Perimeter, Canada & ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

Xi Yin (Harvard U., USA)

String theory is a mathematically consistent theory of quantum gravity, but no one has determined whether it describes quantum gravitational interactions in our own Universe. The principal obstacle is that the theoretical tools used to study string theory, including the worldsheet formalism, spacetime effective theory, and holographic dualities, can at the moment describe only limited and idealized phenomena in nearly flat space.

This 2-week program will bring together researchers working on various aspects of these tools such as the pure spinor formalism, string field theory, AdS-CFT and algebraic geometry to try to extend these tools to describe more complicated superstring backgrounds.

The format will include only a few seminars per day with lots of time for discussion and collaboration. The first week of the program from August 4-8 will be jointly organized with the last week of the annual Simons Bootstrap Collaboration meeting.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for local expenses.

Registration deadline:

June 28, 2025

Online registration and more information: ictp-saifr.org/pfast2025















ORGANIZERS

Nathan Berkovits

(ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

Pedro Vieira

(Perimeter, Canada & ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

(Harvard University, USA)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE

Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director) Maysa Furlan (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Larissa Takeda (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)