ICTP | International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR | South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Venue: NCC-UNESP - São Paulo, Brazil



TOPICS

Foundations of Machine Learning

Building Smarter, Deeper Models and Specialized Architectures

How Al Is Used in Everyday Life

The Impact of Al Across Industries

Where AI Is Headed Next

The 4th School on Data Science and Machine Learning invites ambitious researchers ready to harness the transformative power of advanced artificial intelligence. Building on our successful four-year legacy, this year's program features state-of-the-art topics reflecting the rapid evolution of Al in 2025. Machine Learning is revolutionizing every sector of society — from breakthrough medical diagnostics to intelligent systems supporting vulnerable populations to innovative public safety solutions. Our program is tailored for advanced PhD candidates finalizing research, early-career postdoctoral researchers, professionals seeking to integrate cutting-edge Al into their work, and researchers from diverse backgrounds looking to apply Al to their disciplines. We have designed a balanced learning approach with morning theoretical sessions paired with afternoon hands-on practical exercises that bridge theory and application.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: September 16, 2025

Online application and more information:

ictp-saifr.org/dsml2025

















ORGANIZERS

Raphael Cobe NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil Thiago Tomei NCC-UNESP/AI2, Brazil Sergio F. Novaes

Tommaso Dorigo

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)

Ausi Dauliokal (chair, CLF director)
Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director)
Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director)
Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president)
Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier)
Rosario Fazio (ICTP)
Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP)
William Bialek (Princeton Univ.)
Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois)
Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.)
André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.)
Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.)
Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.)
Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director)
Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director)
Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator)
Larissa Takeda (Activities Coordinator)
Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary)
Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager)
Lilia Faria (Financial Manager)
Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator)
Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager)
Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant)
Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)