Workshop on Spatial and Temporal
    Dynamics of Ecological Networks

May 14-18, 2018

São Paulo, Brazil


logo.png (952×87)


Network theory has become a fundamental tool to study and analyze complex systems. In the field of ecology, in particular, the application of these new methods has led to tremendous progress, increasing our knowledge of the assembly and dynamics of ecological communities. Many questions, however, remain open, especially those requiring the integration of ecological processes that operate over spatial and temporal scales. This workshop will bring together a diverse group of scientists spanning the fields of biology, physics, mathematics and computation to focus on these questions. The group will develop working hypotheses for factors driving network dynamics based on empirical patterns; explore case studies of variation across space or time in ecological networks; develop new models of network dynamics incorporating coevolution and community ecology; develop models to link ecology to macroevolutionary processes.

During the workshop participants will be organized in groups to work on specific projects of common interest. There will be one introductory talk every morning, before the groups start working, and one more technical talk in the afternoon. There is no registration fee.


  • Marcus A.M. de Aguiar (IF-UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • David Hembry (Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona, USA)
  • Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP, Brazil)
  • Erica Newman (School of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of Arizona, USA)
  • James Lawrence O’Donnell (National Research Council Postdoctoral Research Associate, under contract to Northwest Fisheries Science Center, NOAA Fisheries, Seattle USA)
  • Paulo R. Guimarães Jr (Departamento de Ecologia, Instituto de Biociências, USP, São Paulo)

Invited Speakers

  • Laura Burkle (Montana State University, USA)
  • Cecilia Diaz Castelazo (CONACYT, Mexico)
  • Marie-Josée Fortin (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Paulo R. Guimaraes Jr. (University Sao Paulo, Brazil)
  • Dominique Gravel (University of Quebec, Canada)
  • Thilo Gross (University of Bristol, UK)
  • David Hembry (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Ulrich Mueller (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Erica Newman (School of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of Arizona, USA)
  • James O’Donnell (University of Washington, USA)
  • Mathias Pires (UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • Timothee Poisot (University of Quebec, Canada)
  • Justin Yeakel (University California Merced, USA)




Click here for online application

Application deadline: March 16, 2018



Additional Information