Postdoctoral positions at ICTP-SAIFR

The ICTP South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR), located at the campus of the Instituto de Física Teórica (IFT-UNESP) in Sao Paulo, announces the opening of several FAPESP postdoctoral positions to begin in 2024. The initial hiring is for 2 years, and successful postdoctoral researchers will be able to extend the position for 3 years, and in exceptional cases for 4 years.

The FAPESP postdoctoral fellowships pay an annual tax-free salary of 108,568 Brazilian reais as well as moving costs and 10,000 reais per year for research expenses. Postdocs will also receive ICTP-SAIFR funds for travel to conferences, to invite visitors, and to organize schools and workshops.

Review of applications will begin in October 2023 and will continue until all positions have been filled. Although there is no strict application deadline, candidates are strongly encouraged to send applications before December 10, 2023 by filling out the online application form here.

Candidates will need to supply some biographical information and their curriculum vitae with publication list, research project, and the email addresses of 3 researchers who can write recommendation letters. Candidates do not need to include grade transcripts in the application form. Any questions on filling out the online application form should be sent to

ICTP-SAIFR associated and principal researchers with whom the postdoctoral researchers can collaborate include:

Complex Systems with applications to biology – Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp), Hilda Cerdeira Gomez (IFT-UNESP), Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP), Ricardo Martinez-Garcia (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP/CASUS), José Nelson Onuchic (Rice U.), Paulo Prado (IB-USP), Pierre Ronceray (U. Marseille);

Condensed matter – Danilo Liarte (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Jamir Marino (Mainz), Eduardo Miranda (Unicamp), Victor Quito (Iowa State U.), Aline Ramires (Paul Scherrer I.), Alexandre Reily Rocha (IFT-UNESP), Dario Rosa (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Silvio Salinas (IFUSP); 

Astrophysics and Astroparticles – Enrico Bertuzzo (IFUSP/U. Modena), Chee Sheng Fong (UFABC), Fabio Iocco (U. Napoli), Rodrigo Nemmen (IAG-USP), Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (IAG-USP), Farinaldo Queiroz (ICTP-SAIFR/IIP-Natal), Riccardo Sturani (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP);

Cosmology – Raul Abramo (IFUSP), Marcos Lima (IFUSP), Vivian Miranda (Stony Brook), Rafael Porto (DESY Hamburg), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Riccardo Sturani (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP);

Particle Physics – Oscar Éboli (IFUSP), Renata Funchal (IFUSP), Marcelo Guzzo (Unicamp), Gastão Krein (IFT-UNESP), Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP), Sergio Novaes (NCC-UNESP/IFT-UNESP), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP). 

String Theory/Field Theory – Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Andrei Mikhailov (IFT-UNESP), Horatiu Nastase (IFT-UNESP), Diego Trancanelli (IFUSP/U. Modena), Pedro Vieira (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP/Perimeter).