Postdoctoral Positions

The ICTP South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR) announces the opening of up to 12 FAPESP postdoctoral positions to begin in 2017. These positions will be filled in areas including astrophysics, complex systems with applications to biology, condensed matter theory, cosmology and general relativity, gravitational waves, mathematical physics, theoretical and experimental particle physics, physics of cold atoms, QCD and hadronic physics, and string theory. The FAPESP postdoctoral fellowships are for two years with possible extension for up to four years, and pay an annual tax-free salary of 82,000 Brazilian reais as well as moving costs and 12,300 Brazilian reais/year for travel and research expenses. Postdocs will also receive ICTP-SAIFR funds to invite visitors and organize activities.

Review of applications will begin in January 2017 and will continue until all positions have been filled. Although there is no strict deadline, applications before December 15, 2016 are strongly recommended for positions to begin in 2017. Candidates can apply by filling out the online application form here.

Postdocs will be expected to collaborate with ICTP-SAIFR associated researchers located at IFT-UNESP and nearby universities which include:
Astrophysics/Cosmology/Gravitational Waves – Raul Abramo (IFUSP), Fabio Iocco (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Marcos Lima (IFUSP), Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (IAG-USP), Rafael Porto (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Riccardo Sturani (ICTP-SAIFR/IIP-Natal);
Complex Systems with applications to biology – Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp), Hilda Cerdeira (IFT-UNESP), Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP), Paulo Prado (IB-USP);
Condensed Matter and Cold Atom Physics – Sadhan Adhikari (IFT-UNESP), Alexandre Rocha (IFT-UNESP);
String Theory/Field Theory/Mathematical Physics – Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Andrei Mikhailov (IFT-UNESP), Horatiu Nastase (IFT-UNESP), Victor Rivelles (IFUSP), Diego Trancanelli (IFUSP), Pedro Vieira (ICTP-SAIFR/Perimeter);
Theoretical and Experimental Particle Physics – Gustavo Burdman (IFUSP), Oscar Éboli (IFUSP), Gastão Krein (IFT-UNESP), Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP), Sergio Novaes (NCC-UNESP/IFT-UNESP), Eduardo Pontón (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP).