Latin American Workshop on Observational Cosmology

December 14-18, 2020 (by videoconference)

Zoom ID: 978 0533 3938

Password: cosmo

ICTP-SAIFR, São Paulo, Brazil


This workshop was originally intended to be an in-person workshop held at ICTP-SAIFR in São Paulo focusing on the Latin American community working in different aspects of theoretical and observational cosmology. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic this workshop will take place online. Understanding the limitations of online events we decided to follow a somewhat different format. We will take advantage of pre-recorded talks in order to leave ample time for discussions. The pre-recorded talks will be available beforehand and the participants can watch them at their convenience.

Each day of the event will consist of 2 sessions of 1 hour each with discussions focused on 3 pre-recorded talks. The speaker would make a 5 minutes summary at the beginning of the session where he/she is scheduled in order to start the discussions.

The workshop will cover topics such as: large-scale structure (theory and observations), gravitational lensing, tensions in cosmology, clusters, radio cosmology, dark matter and neutrinos, dark energy and modified gravity and machine learning techniques. We already have several confirmed speakers listed below but there are still a few available slots. Please indicate in the registration whether you would like to present a talk (also pre-recorded). The deadline for submitting a talk is November 15.

There is no registration fee.


  • Luca Amendola (Heidelberg University, Germany): Measuring H(z) without assuming a cosmology
  • Alexandra Amon (Stanford University, USA): Robust analysis of the Dark Energy Survey Year 3 data
  • Maria C. Artale (University of Innsbruck, Austria): The galaxy-dark matter halo connection: predictions from hydrodynamical simulations [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Matteo Biagetti (Institute for Fundamental Physics of the Universe, Italy): The Persistence of Large Scale Structures  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Martin Crocce (Institute of Space Sciences-Barcelona, Spain): Galaxy clustering in imagining surveys; DES as case example  [VIDEO]-[PDF]
  • Marian Douspis (Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, France): Cosmology with SZ clusters  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Alex Drlica-Wagner (Fermilab, USA): Small Galaxies, Big Science: Fundamental Physics from the Faintest Galaxies  [VIDEO]
  • Ginevra Favole (EPFL, Switzerland): Multi-tracer cosmology through the lens of SHAM  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Pedro Ferreira (Oxford U., UK): Constraining Dark Energy with Black Hole Ringdown [VIDEO]
  • Carlos Frenk (Durham University, UK): A conclusive test of the validity of the cold dark matter model [VIDEO]
  • Oliver Friedrich (Kavli Institute for Cosmology Cambridge, UK): A way beyond 2-point statistics in the analyses of large scale structure  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Jaime E. Forero-Romero (Los Andes University, Colombia): The beta-skeleton view of the cosmic web [VIDEO]-[PDF]
  • Celine Gouin (Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, France): Probing the environment of galaxy clusters. From cluster core to cosmic filaments  [VIDEO]
  • Christopher Hirata (Ohio State University, USA): Calibrating detectors for precision cosmology [VIDEO]
  • Daniel Holz (KICP & University of Chicago, USA): Some recent results in gravitational-wave astrophysics [VIDEO]
  • Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki ( University of Texas at Dallas, USA): Testing General Relativity in Cosmology 
  •  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Marc Kamionkowski (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Elisabeth Krause (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Joseph Kuruvilla ( Université Paris-Saclay, France): Three-point Gaussian streaming model and the cosmological information content in three-point velocity statistics  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Martin Makler (CBPF, Brazil): Strong Lensing Constraints on Cosmology and Modified Gravity [VIDEO]
  • Nicola Malavasi (Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale (IAS), Orsay, France): The relative effect of nodes and filaments of the cosmic web on the quenching of galaxies and the orientation of their spin  [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Jorge Noreña (PUC-Valparaíso, Chile): Learning about inflation from the three-point function [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Dante Paz (IATE, Argentina): Cosmic Voids as cosmological laboratories [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Miguel Quartin (UFRJ, Brazil): First measurements of the intrinsic CMB dipole [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • Farinaldo Queiroz (II-P/UFRN, Brazil): Light Dark Matter: A Common Solution to the Lithium and H_0 Problems  [VIDEO]
  • Ariel Sanchez (MPG, Germany): Let us bury the prehistoric h: arguments against using Mpc/h units in cosmology [VIDEO]-[PDF]
  • Roman Scoccimarro (New York University, USA): TBA
  • Claudia Scoccola (FCAG-UNLP / CONICET, Argentina): Current status of the QUBIC experiment [VIDEO]-[PDF]
  • David Spergel (Center for Computational Astrophysics, Flatiron Institute-New York, USA): Determining the Universe’s Initial Conditions  [VIDEO]
  • Hideki Tanimura (IAS, France): Detection of the kinetic Sunyaev-Zel’dovich effect in galaxy clusters [VIDEO] – [PDF]
  • David Valls-Gabaud (CNRS – Observatoire de Paris, France): Cosmology with the MESSIER Surveyor
  • Licia Verde (Institute of Cosmological Sciences-Barcelona, Spain): Precision cosmology and blind watchers of the sky [VIDEO]
  • Benjamin Wandelt (Institut Langrange de Paris, France)
  • Matías Zaldarriaga (Institute for Advanced Studies – Princeton, USA)

Satisfaction survey: click HERE


  • Cora Dvorkin (Harvard U., USA)
  • Nelson Padilla (PUC-Santiago, Chile)
  • Miguel Quartin (UFRJ, Brazil)
  • Rogerio Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)



Online registration is now closed


Workshop Program: PDF updated on December 13, 2020

Note: Videos are being uploaded and the process will be complete over the weekend.

Videos & Files

2020-12-14 2020-12-15 2020-12-16 2020-12-17 2020-12-18



Additional Information